Medical Commission

Medical Commission meeting in Tatra, Polan (Photo: David Hillebrandt)

About Medical Commission

The Medical Commission was founded in 1981 by the General Assembly. In the beginning there was only a few doctors representing the largest mountaineering federations. Today, the commission has grown to include 22 delegated doctors from 18 different mountaineering  federations, as well as 16 corresponding members from all over the world.

In 1984 the commission held a conference in Chamonix, with over 350 participants. There the delegates decided that it was necessary to form an international organisation which was open to everyone interested in mountain medicine, also those who are not members of the UIAA.

Therefore the Medical Commission founded the International Society of Mountain Medicine (ISMM) in 1986. This society deals with all the different  aspects of mountain medicine, mainly on a scientific level. Today ISMM has 450 members.

Over the years the UIAA Medical Commission has work ed very closely with the Medical Commission of the International Commission for Alpine Rescue (ICAR). The current presidents of the UIAA Medical commission and the MedCom ICAR are always on the advisory board of the ISMM.

In the last few years we have also worked closely together with the Wilderness Medical Society (WMS), a leading organisation dealing with all different aspects of wilderness medicine  (mountaineering, diving, space medicine, survival in deserts etc). WMS is mainly active in the USA  and has about 3500 members. 

Our Mission

The mission of the UIAA Medical Commission is to increase the knowledge about mountain medicine among doctors and mountaineers all over the world.

We collect, evaluate and discuss medical data and try to reach an international consensus on difficult issues of prevention and treatment of illness and injuries. We regularly publish recommendation papers which are available to everybody on the UIAA webpage.

All the members of the commission are doctors specialised in mountain medicine, and we make sure that every year more doctors get this training.

We check the quality of the different courses of mountain medicine for doctors and in collaboration with ISMM and CISA/ICAR we have set standards for the International Diploma of Mountain Medicine. In ten countries our members have founded national societies which organise courses in mountain medicine for doctors and mountaineers. 

To continue to improve the information we give to climbers, we arrange international congresses in collaboration with our partners ISMM,MedCom ICAR and WMS. We continue to support the International Society of Mountain Medicine (ISMM), which conducts scientific research on mountain medicine. We also work closely with other international organisations dealing with mountain medicine, such as specialists in Olympic sports medicine.


As confirmed by the Management Committee Baku, Azerbaijan May 2016

Full Members

Hillebrandt (President) Dave, Great Britain (BMC)
Rodway (Vice President) George, USA (AAC)
Akca Alp, Turkey (TDF)
Basnyat Buddha, Nepal (NMA)
Behpour AliReza, Iran (I.R.IMSCF)
Bouzat Pierre (FFCAM)
Dhillon Sundeep, UK (BMC)
Donegani Enrico, Italy (CAI)
Gurtoo Anil, India (IMF)
Hefti Urs,Switzerland (SAC)
Holmgren Johan, Sweden(SKF)
Ismayil Vasif, Azerbaijan (FAIREX)
Komoni Basri, Kosovo(KMAF)
Konczakowski Piotr, Poland(PZA)
Kubalova Jana, Czech Republic (CMF)
Kuepper Thomas, Germany (DAV)
Mashkovsky Evgeny, Russia(RMF)
Matsubayashi Kozo, Japan (JMA)
McCall John, Canada(ACC
Michailov Michail
, Bulgaria (BCMF)
Moens Didier, Belgium (CMBEL)
Peters Patrick, Luxembourg (FLERA)
Roi Giulio Sergio, Italy (ISF)
Schoeffl Volker, Germany (DAV)
Shahbazi Jaladin, Iran (I.R.IMSCF)
Stave Halvard, Norway (NTK)
Rianne van der Spek / Marieke van Vessem, Netherlands (NKBV)

Corresponding Members

Agazzi Giancelso, Italy (CAI)
Angelini Corrado, Italy
Bogg Johann
, Sweden(SKF)
Chiocconi Antonio Ramón
, Argentina (FASA)
El-Sheikh Yasser
, Canada(ACC)
Mammadov Emin
, Azerbaijan (AMF)
Milledge James
, Great Britain (BMC)
Morrison Audry
, Great Britain (BMC)
Nakashima Michiro
, Japan (JMA)
Rotman Ivan
, Czech Republic  (CMF)
Von Delft Eckardt
, South Africa (MCSA)
Wang Shih-Hao
, Taiwan (CTAA)

External Experts/Observers

Berghold Franz, Austria (OeAV)
Brugger Hermann
,Italy (IKAR Medcom)
Dikic Nenad
, Serbia (PSS)
Peter, Austria (OEGAHM)
Durrer Bruno, Switzerland (SAC)
Ellerton John, UK (IKAR Medcom)
Koukoutsi Alexandra, Greece
Kulkami Amol, Tanzania

Masuyama Shigeru
, Japan (JMA)
Meijer Heleen, Netherlands (NKBV)
Mosaedian Hamid
, Iran
Trevena Daniel, Australia
Venables Justin
, New Zealand (NZAC)
Vinhaes Garrigos Eduardo, Brasil
windsor Jeremy
, Great Britain (BMC)

Board Link

Peter Farkas