Ice Climbing Commission

Ice Climbing Commission members at a meeting in Slovenia (Photo: UIAA)

About the Ice Climbing Commission

UIAA’s Ice Climbing Commission is responsible for framing the rules and regulations for Ice Climbing competitions. It also ensures quality of the competitions as per UIAA terms and standards.

The commission is also responsible for the administration and development aspects of ice climbing as a sport. It has been organizing the Ice Climbing World Cup competitions since 2004.The commission has also been involved in making rules for these competitions simpler and fairer to encourage greater participation in the sport which is being showcased at the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics.

As part of its development activities the commission organizes courses for route setters and judges for ice climbing competitions. These technical courses help the aspirant judges and route setters to inform themselves about the latest rules and innovations for the sport which involves technical expertise.

As confirmed by the Management Committee Zaragoza, Spain March 2015



Urs Stöcker (President) Switzerland SAC
David Dornian Canada AAC
Byeong goo KIM, Korea KAF
Nadezhda Launits Russia RMF
Andrej Pecjak Slovenia PZS
Pavel Shablin Russia RMF
Carlos Teixeira Carlos Portugal FEMP
Luc Thibal France FFCAM


Corresponding Members

Israfil Ashurly Azerbaijan AAF
Zolijargal Banzragch Mongolia MNMF
Bharat Bhushan India IMF
Pranav Rawat India IMF
Hamid Reza Shafaghi Iran IMSCF
Masoud Zeynali Iran IMSCF

Expert Members

Marc Beverly
Alex Paun

Link to Board: Thomas Kähr